Spotlight on Desert Bound (Cambio Springs # 2) & Giveaway

Elizabeth Hunter has recently released the second installment in the Cambio Springs series, a new paranormal romance series featuring supernatural shape-shifters. Although I haven’t had the chance to start this series, I have read her paranormal Elemental Mysteries series and really enjoyed it. Based on my experience with the Elemental Mysteries series, I can say Hunter is a talented writer and gifted storyteller! If you like the paranormal, I certainly recommend that you give this author’s work a try.

About the Cambrio Springs Series

“Welcome to Cambio Springs! Population? Well, you could say that it… varies.

In this small desert town, secrets bubble up from the desert floor, and history is written on the canyon walls. Seven friends will gather at the crossroads, because in Cambio Springs, everything—and everyone—changes.

In a town populated by shape shifters, tradition and loyalty hold the community together, but when change comes from the outside, secrets are revealed, friendship is tested, and more than a few claws come out.” (from Goodreads)

Pageflex Persona [document: PRS0000032_00049]

Desert Bound (Cambio Springs # 2)  by Elizabeth Hunter

Publication Date: October 14, 2014

Genre: Paranormal Romance

clearergoodreadsicon_thumb.png

BookDescriptionhalfsize.jpg

Can you turn the clock back on your first love? Would you even want to try?

Alex McCann and Teodora “Ted” Vasquez left Cambio Springs together. Ted came back. Alex didn’t.

Now, years later, the future alpha of the McCann wolves has returned with plans to bring new life to the dying desert community. Plans that could change everything for the isolated enclave of shapeshifters in the California desert. Some love the plan. Others hate it.

As the town’s doctor and one of the strongest daughters in the cat clan, Ted has her own concerns about exposing her community to outsiders. The two former lovers are at each other’s throats. And everyone is watching to see what happens.

But when murder once again strikes Cambio Springs, can they overcome their past to help the community they both call home? And can the love they shared once burn again when so many stand against it?

Available from Amazon Desert Bound (Cambio Springs) (Volume 2)

Continue reading

Read-A-Long: The World Without a Future (Chpts 41-45) by Nazarea Andrews

Pageflex Persona [document: PRS0000026_00033]
This is the second week of the the read-a-long blog tour for THE WORLD WITHOUT A FUTURE by Nazarea Andrews. This is book #1 in ‘The World Without End’ series. Book #2,The Horde Without End is available now and the third book in the series,The World Without Hope, will be released on November 20th.
 
Each site will be hosting a summary of 5 chapters from THE WORLD WITHOUT A FUTURE. You can check out Nazarea’s comments on those chapters below.

THE WORLD WITHOUT A FUTURE – CHAPTERS 46-50
by Nazarea Andrews

So they FINALLY have the medicine and everyone can do a happy dance and go back where they belong. Except—you know, there’s that small matter of a zombie horde coming. And because of it, the Aldermen are locking the Haven down.
The thing is that the Havens aren’t defensible, and hiding is a death sentence. That’s what Finn would tell the Aldermen, if they would listen. But they aren’t, because the idea of leaving behind the protective walls of their haven home—that’s terrifying.
Then Finn has a plan and we get to see Ren interact with Jesse and then Lori. I enjoyed seeing her without Finn as a backdrop—how she stands up to threats and manipulates people (because come on. She totally does with Jesse. I felt bad for the poor guy.)

Continue reading

Huge Fall Giveaway~ Ebook Prize Packages and Gift Cards

I’m a tour host for Fire and Ice Virtual Book Tours, and am excited to share with you their huge Fall Giveaway.  Just click on the Rafflecopter link at the end of this post to enter!

fireandicegiveaway

 Falling leaves. Chilly temperatures. Fall has arrived with a bang. It’s the perfect time of year for reading! Enter this giveaway for your chance to win Amazon gift cards or some great ebook prize packages to fill your Kindle with. We’ve partnered with several great authors to offer you enough excellent reads to last you through the season. Organized by Fire and Ice Book Tours!

Continue reading

I’ve Fallen Off the Wagon: 17 Day Diet Here I Come…Again

Earlier this year, I reviewed Dr. Mike Moreno’s book, The 17 Day Diet  (2011 edition)  that I used to help me lose weight back in 2012. I was very satisfied with the weight-loss program advocated in the book, and I lost a total of 51 lbs picI  was so proud of myself! I felt great both mentally and physically. I’m also vain enough to admit, I went out and bought lots of new smaller-sized clothes. photo firework_zpseyapxs0d.gif

Now as  2014 draws to an end, I’m a bit embarrassed to admit that I have fallen off the proverbial wagon, the  one that calls out to us,

“Come aboard and have some baked chicken and steamed broccoli. Or even better, eat that broccoli raw, yum yum.  Your body will thank you.”

And from my own experience I know my body will appreciate all the healthy nutrients I’m giving it, even though I’d rather be eating fried chicken, creamy mashed potatoes, and cheesy mac-and-cheese.  Living here in Texas, I ‘m constantly tempted by “Texas Cookin'” – Guy Clark’s song says it all:

Continue reading

Blog Tour for The Necromancer’s Betrayal~ Author Guest Post & Giveaway

The Necromancer's Betrayal Banner-Sept-Oct- 851 x 315

The Necromancer’s Betrayal (Necromancer # 2) by Mimi Sebastian

Necromancers Betrayal Book CoverPublication Date: June 2014 / 226 pgs.

Genre: Urban Fantasy, Paranaormal Romance

Number of pages: 226

Publisher: ImaJinn/Belle Books

ISBN: 978-1611945119

Cover Artist: Patricia Lazarus

BookDescriptionhalfsize_thumb.jpg

Her powers have been hobbled. Her enemies are growing stronger.

Old loves challenge her. And her worst betrayer may be herself.

Necromancer Ruby Montagne is battling for her life in the realm of demons. Unfairly branded for the death of a fellow necromancer, she’s got to prove her innocence without the full use of her magic. And the real culprit is still on the loose.

 While someone is stalking her friends among the witches, Ruby searches for answers inside the dark intrigues of both the demon and necromancer worlds. Ruby must confront this new, sinister threat while reconciling her feelings for her former lover, a demon warrior. Only it’s difficult . . . because a sexy vampire is making it clear that he’d like to be a lot more than just friends.

 The competition for Ruby’s trust heats up as the enemy pushes her toward a dark side that could threaten the entire realm. Yet what can Ruby do when she’s not even sure what she is? With the fabric separating the realms at stake, she must decide whom to trust. But will the ultimate betrayal be her own?

addtogoodreadslogotransparent.png

Continue reading

Blog Tour for The Demon Stone: Author Guest Post & Giveway

Today’s post features a guest post by Chris Datta, author of The Demon Stone, the book spotlight of the day. Data’s first novel, Touched With Fire was a number one best-seller in the Historical Fiction genre, and the great reviews I’ve seen about his new supernatural thriller indicate this will be a frightful and spine-chilling read. Heck, just reading the book’s description gave me goose bumps. With Halloween coming upon us, you just might find this is the scary read you’ve been looking for. Also, don’t miss your chance to win some awesome prizes in the tour-wide giveaway!

Demon Stone Book Cover

The Demon Stone by Christopher Datta

Publication Date:May 2014

Genre: Paranormal Thriller

clearergoodreadsicon_thumb.png

BookDescriptionhalfsize.jpg

The Demon Stone is a powerful supernatural thriller that leads you from the killing fields of Africa to the quiet Boundary Waters of Northern Minnesota. In braided narratives, Datta spins a terrifying story about the spiritual forces—both real and supernatural—that incite the basest, bloodiest and most frightening of human behaviors. 

“Reading Chris Datta is like riding a rollercoaster. It’s a fast ride filled with twists and turns. His Demon Stone is scary fun. Stephen King, watch your back!”
-Richard Rashke, author of The Killing of Karen Silkwood

Continue reading

Blog Tour~ First Wave (Travis Combs Thrillers # 1)

We’re entering the zombie zone today with First Wave, the first in a new post-apocalyptic- zombie series by JT Sawyer. Today’s post includes an article by the author explaining the appeal of zombie fiction that continues to be wildly popular with some readers, myself included. You can also whet your book appetite by reading the Prologue and opening First Wave.  Enjoy!

First Wave Banner 851 x 315

Firsst Wave (Travis Combs Thrillers # 1) by JT Sawyer

First Wave New Author WEBSITE USE

Publication Date:  February 2014 / Publisher JT Sawyer

Genre: Post-Apocalyptic Fiction, Paranormal (Zombies) 

clearergoodreadsicon_thumb.png

BookDescriptionhalfsize.jpg

Special Forces veteran Travis Combs just wanted to forget his weary years of leading combat missions while taking an extended rafting trip through the Grand Canyon.

As he and his group complete a 22-day trip on the Colorado River, they find the world has unraveled from a deadly pandemic.

Now, he has to show his small band how to live off the land and cross the rugged Arizona desert, while evading blood-drinking zombies, gangs of cartel bikers, and a rogue government agency.

Available at Amazon: First Wave: A Post-Apocalyptic Thriller, Book One (First Wave Series 1)

Continue reading

Cover Reveal for The Future Without Hope (The World Without End # 3)

I’m excited to learn that book three of The World Without End series will be published soon. I’ve read the first two books in the series, and I like it. Today, I’m sharing the cover and book description for The Future Without Hope which is scheduled to be released this November.

Pageflex Persona [document: PRS0000446_00074]

Future Without Hope (The World Without End # 3)  by Nazarea Andrews

Publication Date: November 2014

Genres: NA, Post-Apocalyptic Fiction, Paranormal (Zombie) Fiction

clearergoodreadsicon_thumb.png

Separated from Finn, captive of the Order, Nurrin has no hope left. But she has survived twenty years of zombies–and she has the unshakable faith that Finn will find her.

But Finn is a long way away. The Order’s influence runs deeper than was ever suspected, and politics are shifting–and zombies may not be the most dangerous thing she’s facing.

Finn always thought the war stripped him of all he had to lose. But with Nurrin missing and doors closing in his face, he realizes there is always more for the world to take–and he will drag the remains of civilization down with him before he gives up on the only promise that matters.

Continue reading

Sunday Series Spotlight: The Aftertime Trilogy

 

The Aftertime Trilogy by Sophie Littlefield

Genre: Post Apocalyptic, Horror, Paranormal (Zombies)

This is a provocative series featuring Cass Dollar, a young woman who is carrying around a lot of emotional baggage and struggling to rebuild her life which had fallen into shambles even before the zombie apocalypse consumed the world. For Cass the only good thing to come out of this mass horror is that she’s finally able to regain custody of her young daughter, Ruthie, until horrifying events separate them again. Later Cass finds herself hundreds of miles away from her daughter, awakening bewildered, physically scarred, and with no idea how she got there. That’s how the first  book opens, and it grabbed my attention right from the start and, figuratively speaking, I was glued to the pages until the end.

 

Aftertime (Aftertime # 1)

Publication Date: February 22, 2011

2f404-goodreads-badge-add-plus

 Awakening in a bleak landscape as scarred as her body, Cass Dollar vaguely recalls surviving something terrible. Having no idea how many weeks have passed, she slowly realizes the horrifying truth: Ruthie has vanished.

And with her, nearly all of civilization.

Where once-lush hills carried cars and commerce, the roads today see only cannibalistic Beaters — people turned hungry for human flesh by a government experiment gone wrong.

In a broken, barren California, Cass will undergo a harrowing quest to get Ruthie back. Few people trust an outsider, let alone a woman who became a zombie and somehow turned back, but she finds help from an enigmatic outlaw, Smoke. Smoke is her savior, and her safety.

For the Beaters are out there.

And the humans grip at survival with their trigger fingers. Especially when they learn that she and Ruthie have become the most feared, and desired, of weapons in a brave new world….

Aftertime is my favorite book in the trilogy because it focuses on Cass’s journey to find Ruthie and to be different from the kind of woman she once was not too long ago. She’s such a complex, complicated, and flawed character. Littlefield has done an amazing job in creating a three-dimensional characters, like Cass, that you might meet in real life. Cassie’s not a black and white, good or bad character. In fact, none of the main characters you meet and follow in the series are. Survival becomes the number one motive that drives them. In this first book, though, survival without Ruthie is meaningless to Cassie. She may have failed her daughter in the pre-zombie world, but she’s determined to be a better mother to her daughter, and she must go to great lengths to try to get her daughter out of the clutches of a female religious cult whose beliefs and lifestyle made gave me chill bumps as I read about their influence on the women who are just seeking safety and shelter from the hordes of “Beaters,” infected humans who’ve become cannibalistic creatures who feast upon the flesh and blood of survivors.

Continue reading

Book Blitz for Day Zero (The Zero Trilogy # 1) + Author Guest Post & Giveaway

If you’re a fan of Summer Day’s post-apocalyptic Collapse series, then you don’t want to miss her new novella companion series called The Zero Trilogy. The first installment was just released and features Elle who also appears in the Collapse series. Today, Ms. Lane is guest blogging with me,  so read on as she explains the factors that went into the creation and shaping of Elle’s character. The blitz-wide giveaway includes lots free books, so be sure to enter for your chance to win!

DayZeroBlitzBanner1

Day Zero (The Zero Trilogy # 1)  by Summer Lane

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Publication Date: October 10, 2014

Genre: YA,  Post-Apocalyptic, Dystopia Fiction

clearergoodreadsicon_thumb.png

BookDescriptionhalfsize.jpg

Elle is a survivor.
Since the collapse of modern society, she’s been living in the remains of downtown Hollywood, California, foraging for food and fighting for her life.
And then everything changes.
After she is forced out of her home, she heads north. What she finds is a group of bunker survivors, unlikely comrades, and the hope of a safe haven. Together, they journey toward the dregs of civilization, facing starvation, imprisonment and death.
They are alone, but they are ready.
Day Zero begins today.

Day Zero is a novella, the first installment in The Zero Trilogy, a novella series complementing the international bestselling Collapse Series.

AbouttheAuthor50percent.gif

SummerSummer Lane is the author of the international bestselling Collapse Series, which includes State of Emergency, State of Chaos, State of Rebellion and State of Pursuit. The fifth installment, State of Alliance, is releasing January 2015. Summer is also the author of The Zero Trilogy and an upcoming survivalist/science fantasy series coming in 2015. She owns WB Publishing, Writing Belle Magazine, and is an accomplished creative writing teacher and journalist.

Summer lives in the Central Valley of California, where she spends her time writing, teaching, and writing some more. When she is not writing, she enjoys leisurely visits with friends at coffee shops, dates to the movies, hiking in the mountains and strolling on the beach.

Author Links.

http://www.summerlaneauthor.com/

https://twitter.com/SummerEllenLane

Author Guest Post half size
 “Creating Elle” 
One of the joys of being a writer is that you get to create new and exciting characters entirely from scratch. Of course, fictional characters are simply made up of bits and pieces of realistic people and personalities, but combining them to make a single, unique protagonist is an awesome task.

Elle is the fifteen year-old protagonist of Day Zero, and will be the starring player in the entire Zero Trilogy. When I began writing the story, I had a very clear picture in my head of who this girl was, and where she came from. I find it helpful to create intricate character backstories – regardless of whether or not those stories make it into the novel. Knowing your characters as well as you know yourself makes them real to the readers.

I built Elle’s appearance and personality around the fact that she had been through serious trouble and tribulation before we get into her head in Day Zero. This is what shaped her character for the book, and it is what carries her through many of her adventurous survival scenarios. I can’t wait to see where Elle’s journey ends up taking her!

*****
Purchase Links
B&N: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/day-zero-summer-lane/1120437045?ean=2940150405714

Giveaway50percent.gif

Blitz-wide Giveaway (INTL)

Dead Girl Walking, by Ruth Silver 

Fractured Dream, by K.M. Randall 

Spirit Warriors: The Scarring by DEL Connor 

Eyes of the Enemy by Kelly Hess 

Jacob, King of Portalia by Casey Club 

Destiny Gift by Juliana Haygert 

Aftershock by Roberta Trahan 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

Related Posts

Release Day: Review & Giveaway for State of Rebellion (Collapse Series # 3) 

Book Blitz for State of Pursuit (Collapse Series # 4) + Author Guest Post & Giveaway

Do You Like Zombies? Don’t Miss the Zombie Day Celebration

I became a fan of Nararea Andrews after reading the first two books in her great NA post-apocalyptic The World Without End series.  Today, Andrews joins us with a special note about the upcoming Zombie Day Celebration, which I’m thrilled to share with you, especially since it takes place on October 12th when the much-anticipated Walking Dead premiers.  

ZombieDaySchedule

So, let me turn this post over to Ms. Andrews who’ll give you all the tantalizing details about this fantastic event that you can really sink your teeth into (sorry, I couldn’t resist.)

 

NazareaAndrews-279x300I am so so excited about Zombie Day!!!

Wait. What is zombie day?

Okay. So we’re revealing the cover of The Future Without Hope, book 3 in The World Without End series. And because I am so excited about this release, we’ve decided to do something fun.

On October 12th, we’ll be having an all day event where you can…
~Tweet or share on your facebook or post zombified pictures.
~Share graphic teasers with your favorite quotes from the first two books
~Follow the scavenger hunt cover reveal to put together the cover and find a special code
~Come by the party on Sunday at 10pm and talk with us about zombies and The Walking Dead (because come on. Let’s share the zombie love.)

I really hope that you all take part in the fun on Sunday!!! Tweet me @NazareaAndrews or use the hashtag, #BringontheHorde

 *****

Continue reading

Take a Moment to Check Out These Three New Releases!

I’m excited to share with you details about the release of three new novels that are on my reading list. If you follow my blog, you know I’m an eclectic reader, so the books spotlighted today range from the YA to adult romance. If you’re looking for a new series to start, perhaps one of these novels will catch your interest.  Happy Release Day to all of these authors!

Night Sky (Night Sky # 1) by Suzanne Brockmann & Melanie Brockmann

I have enjoyed every Suzanne Brockmann novel I’ve read, and now she has a new YA series that she and her daughter have co-written.  Based on the series prequel I read, I think Night Sky is going to do very well. Read my review for Dangerous Destiny that introduces the series here: Sunday Series Spotlight: Night Sky 

Release Date: October 7, 2014 / 496 pgs

Genres: YA, Urban Fantasy, Paranormal

f2f02-addtogoodreads

New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Suzanne Brockmann and her daughter Melanie Brockmann have written a pulse-pounding novel of paranormal suspense set in a near future both fantastic and frightening. “Original and exciting, NIGHT SKY propels readers into a dangerous future. Loved it.” —Melissa Marr, New York Times bestselling author of Made For You and the Wicked Lovely series

Skylar Reid is shaken when Sasha, the little girl she babysits, is kidnapped. Scared that the weird dreams she’s been having about Sasha are real—and even more afraid that Sasha is already dead. When a mysterious girl with extreme butt-kicking abilities roars into town on a motorcycle and, well, stalks Skylar things get even weirder. Supergirl Dana tells Sky that she also has abilities – that a hormone in their blood makes them stronger, faster, smarter. A hormone that the makers of a new drug called Destiny will murder to get their hands on.

Dana and Milo, her dangerously hot yet oh-so-forbidden partner in crime, want Sky to join them in their mission – to mold Sky into the ultimate weapon. She can sense there’s something about her abilities they’re not telling her. But the only way to save Sasha and stop other girls from being taken is to embrace the weird…and fight Destiny.

Watch the book Trailer green half size

*****

Continue reading

Blog Tour ~ The Rebel Series + Author Guest Post & Giveaway

Today, I’m part of the blog tour for Lance Erlick’s YA Rebels series which features sixteen-year-old Annabelle and her struggle to find her way in a dystopic world ruled by a female-dominated government. Learn more about Annabelle’s character from Mr. Erlick in the featured guest post and enter the giveaway for your chance to win one of two Amazon gift cards!

rebelsbanner

Genre: YA, Dystopian Fiction

The Rebel Within (Rebel # 1) 

perf5.500x8.500.indd

Annabelle (16) faces adult dilemmas and a fight for her life. Orphaned at age three when the military took her parents, she’s a tomboy who rebels against her conformist society, which pushes her to become a cop intern to catch escaped boys. Then she’s forced to choose between joining the elite military that took her parents or being torn from her beloved sister and adoptive mom.

The Rebel Within turns our male dominated world upside down. After the Second American Civil War, the Federal Union pursues a utopian society without men by rounding up the remaining males, and enforcing Harmony. Central to their plan is EggFusion Fertilization and Female Mechanized Warriors.

In this world, Annabelle faces a cop intern boss who hates her, a military commander who demands too much, and an amazon bully who won’t leave her alone. She meets a handsome boy who escapes prison. As she tries to survive rigorous military training and hunt for her imprisoned birth mother, Annabelle must choose between capturing the boy and helping him escape, while she wrestles with the consequences of her actions.

Goodreads | Amazon:  The Rebel Within (Rebels Book 1)

*****

The Rebel Trap (Rebel # 2)

perf5.500x8.500.indd

Voices in 16-year-old Annabelle’s head aren’t God or signs she’s going mad—yet.

The Rebel Trap sweeps readers into a haunting world with no privacy. Written as a standalone story, it also follows Annabelle’s adventures from The Rebel Within.

Auditory implants and contact cams allow her military commander from the unit that took her parents to watch her 24-7. A boy she helped to escape hacks her implants to plead for her help. She’s forced to be a cop and military spy investigating her police captain as well as capturing escaped boys. Observed constantly, Annabelle has to dance between helping the escaped boy she likes free his brother from a heavily guarded geek institute, her job to capture him, and the feud between her military commander and the police chief she’s expected to spy on.

A pawn in a bigger game, no one believes she can handle this, which may be her greatest asset.

Goodreads | Amazon:  The Rebel Trap (Rebels Book 2)

*****

Rebels Divided (Rebel # 3) 

perf5.500x8.500.inddRebels Divided is a fun thrill ride written as a standalone action story, but also part of the Rebel series, three years later.

The first time Geo sees Annabelle, they meet as enemies and she doesn’t kill him. That’s worth something. Geo (19) is a rugged frontiersman who hungers to see more of the world than the impoverished Outland glen where he and his pa hide from local Rangers. Annabelle (19) is a tough yet fragile tomboy who lost her parents at age three to the Mech Warriors. Then she’s forced to become a Mech.

After the Second American Civil War, the nation divides into two ‘utopias’. The Federal Union enforces Harmony and an all-female society protected by Mechanized Warriors. The Outland promotes rugged individualism, but Thane Edwards holds a monopoly of power with his Rangers. The Union’s Tenn-tucky governor and the Outland warlord conclude a secret deal, pledging Annabelle to the warlord to provide heirs, and putting a bounty on Geo and his pa.

Hunted by military from both sides, Geo and Annabelle struggle to overcome mutual distrust in order to work together to rescue her sister and gain justice for the murder of his father.

 Goodreads | Amazon: Rebels Divided

excerpt50percent.jpg

“Don’t be alarmed,” a muted bass voice said directly into my skull.

You know how when someone says think fast, you can’t? My brain scrambled to make sense of this male voice deep inside my head, given that I’d never heard a masculine tone until six weeks ago.

Sandy tugged me forward. “Don’t keep the commander waiting.”

I pulled back. Morgan, what are you doing in my head? It felt like the mech com-link that allowed you to hear another’s projected thoughts. I couldn’t imagine how to turn the blasted thing off, or how to talk to him without Sandy overhearing. I couldn’t let her or the commander think I was crazy on top of everything else. I considered that possibility.

“I haven’t much time,” Morgan said. “My brother hacked your com-link’s auditory implant. Your escape plan failed. Mechs are rounding up the other boys. Your mom’s in danger.”

I froze. I wanted to see Morgan’s face. Yet I didn’t trust all this craziness inside me, as if I wanted more than just to see him. His tone did sound comforting, though, the only really friendly voice since I ran the gauntlet.

Sandy yanked me forward.

“Sorry for being such a bother. I need your help,” Morgan said somewhere inside my skull.

I followed Sandy, shook my head, and mouthed, “No.” As if somehow, he could see that. I’d done my bit. I’d tried to help him escape.

The gravity of my situation sank in. Had Commander Hernandez caught the nurse helping the boys, or connected the escape to Mom? The entire idea had been stupid, a rushed effort because I really liked Morgan, despite having to fight him. I should have had a better plan, but I was not a planner.

AbouttheAuthor50percent.gif

Lance ErlickLance Erlick grew up in various parts of the United States and Europe. He took to stories as his anchor and was inspired by his father’s engineering work on cutting-edge aerospace projects to look to the future. He studied creative writing at Northwestern University and University of Iowa.

He writes science fiction, dystopian and young adult stories and likes to explore the future implications of social and technological trends. He is the author of The Rebel Within, The Rebel Trap, and Rebels Divided, three books in the Rebel series. In those stories, he flips traditional exploitation to explore the effects of a world that discriminates against males and the consequences of following conscience for those coming of age. Erlick lives in the Chicago area with his family.

Author Links

Website | Twitter | Facebook

 

Author Guest Post half size

Character Profile of Annabelle

How would you feel if you were watched constantly with annoying voices in your head, and they’re real? What would you do if your beliefs were at odds with your restrictive society, and you couldn’t share your innermost fears with anyone? How would you react to an injustice against others, where your involvement will put your life and your family in danger?

These are some of the dilemmas facing sixteen-year-old Annabelle, who rattled around in my head until I wrote her story.

While The Rebel Trap is the second book in the Rebel series, it was written as a standalone story as well, narrated mostly by Annabelle.

She lives in a world where men are exiled, quarantined or forced to fight to the death to train the military elite. She was forced to be a cop intern and when she fought to protect her younger sister, Janine, from a bully, she was arrested, kicked out of high school, and coerced to join the elite Mech Corps that took her parents when she was three. To say she’s a rebel doesn’t begin to cover her angst.

Now, her Mech Corps commander has given her auditory implants and contact cameras so she can watch Annabelle 24/7, and have her spy on her previous police captain. Morgan hacks into her new connections to plead for her help. She could scream, but she didn’t need the added pressure of competing voices in her head, trying to talk her off the ledge.

She’s a pawn in a bigger game, in over her head. The price of failure will be exile from her beloved adoptive family, or death. The fact no one believes she can handle this may be her greatest asset. Can she pull it off?

Giveaway50percent.gif

(2) $25 Amazon Gift Cards (INT)

a Rafflecopter giveaway

In the Zombie Zone: The Premiere of The Walking Dead & Free Zombie Fiction

Countdown to Season 5 of The Walking Dead

Walking Dead truck  follow that truck

I’m so looking forward to the  season premiere of  The Walking Dead  this Sunday, October 12 on AMC.   If you’ve wanted to watch the series, but missed past seasons, you can catch up with The Walking Dead Zombie Apocalypse Week Marathon and watch all of the episodes of the show that lead up to season five. The marathon starts Monday, October 6th on AMC.

Watch the Trailer for the Premiere of Season 5: Never Let Your Guard Down

Continue reading

Welcome to Autumn: A Review of The Litter of the Law (Mrs. Murphy # 21)

Litter of the Law Book COver

The Litter of the Law (Mrs. Murphy # 21)  by Rita Mae Brown & Sneaky Pie Brown

Rita Mae Brown collaborates with feline co-author Sneaky Pie Brown in a  mystery starring Mary Minor “Harry” Haristeen, the curious cat detectives Mrs. Murphy and Pewter, and Tee Tucker, the valiant crime-solving corgi. Halloween arrives early this year to rural central Virginia, when a twisted killer will stop at nothing to protect a multimillion-dollar scheme.

Publication Date: October 22, 2013

Genres: Fiction, Cozy Mystery

clearergoodreadsicon_thumb.png

BookDescriptionhalfsize.jpg

Autumn has descended and crops are being harvested all over Crozet, Virginia, ideal conditions for a scenic drive for Harry and husband Fair. Bucolic views are all well and good, but Harry’s nose for trouble leads her straight to a cornfield’s macabre scarecrow—an all too real murder victim that frightens all but the noisy crows.
 
This accountant’s gruesome death is only the first of many disturbing events in this normally pastoral corner of the world. While Harry tends her beloved grapes and sunflowers, a killer edges closer—as does Harry’s protective menagerie of animals.
 
Halloween’s approach brings with it bona fide terror and a beloved local tradition that threatens to become fatal. Rooting out the guilty in the treacherous center of a lucrative conspiracy requires Harry’s farmer’s wisdom—along with the quick wits and extraordinary senses of Sneaky Pie, Pewter, and Tucker. A vicious murderer may know the lay of the land far better than Harry does, but that’s about to change. It’s up to her vigilant four-footed companions to make sure that the unearthing of this plot is not Harry’s last act.

Continue reading

Blog Tour & Giveaway for Maximum Risk (Wolff Securities # 1)

TOUR BUTTON_JenniferLowery_MAXIMUMRISK_BlogTour

Maximum Risk (Wolff Securities # 1) by Jennifer Lowery

JenniferLowery_MaximumRisk_200px

Publication Date: August 2014

Genre: Romantic Suspense, Adult Fiction

clearergoodreadsicon_thumb.png

BookDescriptionhalfsize.jpg

It should have been a simple rescue mission… 

Retired Pararescueman, Quinn Wolff, wrote the book on how to stay alive during a mission when he founded Wolff Securities, an elite private sector security firm. When he fast-ropes down to save missing humanitarian aid worker, Avery Marks, in the remote mountains of Azbakastan he isn’t prepared for the brave, stubborn woman who challenges the rules he wrote in order to protect her. 

But when it comes to matters of the heart nothing is simple… 

Avery Marks learned a long time ago to take care of herself, but when her convoy is attacked, her friends and coworkers murdered, she has to rely on the aid of intensely capable and handsome, Quinn Wolff to get her safely out of the country. His skills keep her alive, but his kisses put her in danger. In danger of losing her heart. That’s a risk she can’t take ever again. 

Content Warning: Sexual content

Continue reading

Blog Tour~ Aegis Rising (Aegis League Series # 1)

Today’s spotlight is on teen author, Shirin Segran and  Aegis Rising, the first book in her action/adventure series. I have lots of goodies to share with you in this post: You can watch the book trailer, read the author’s Top Ten Reasons for writing this series, plus enter a giveaway for a chance to win a book store gift card. I’ve also included some YouTube videos featuring interviews with Segran about Aegis Rising and the non-profit organization that she supports. Part of the proceeds from the sale of the book go toward providing teens with life-skills and opportunities for growth.

Aegis Banner (1)

Aegis Rising (Aegis League Series # 1)  by S.S. Segran

Aegis Rising New Kindle Cover v2

Publication Date: November 15, 2013

Genre: YA, Sci-Fi, Action/Adventure

clearergoodreadsicon_thumb.png

BookDescriptionhalfsize.jpg

Over a remote northern forest, a small plane carrying five teenage friends flies into a freak storm. Struck by lightning, the aircraft crashes and the passengers find themselves cast into a life-changing adventure.

In a hidden valley, a mysterious people gaze at the stormy sky as a glowing object with fiery wings disappears behind a mountain ridge. The astonishing sight reignites an ancient prophecy foretelling the arrival of five chosen ones destined to become bearers of light against a dark storm gathering on humanity’s horizon.

In a distant city, a secretive organization led by a shadowy figure initiates a sequence of cataclysmic events designed to wreak havoc across the planet, beginning with a remote mining site in northern Canada.

As the three worlds collide, unlikely heroes arise. Armed with powers entrusted to them by the ancient prophecy and the resilience of their life-long bond, the five teens take a stand against a malevolent foe.

Continue reading

Book Tour ~ Deviation (The Sophisticates # 1)

Dystopian fiction is one of my favorite genres, so I was excited to learn of Christine Manzari’s new YA series. Deviation looks like a book where the protagonist, Cleo, faces a number of adversities as she learns to control her unusual super-power, which she tries to keep secret. The book adds an element of the paranormal and perhaps a touch of romance to an imaginary dystopia. Read on to learn more and read an excerpt from the book.

deviationbanner

Deviation (The Sophisticates # 1)  by Christine Manzari

deviation_cover_ebook

Publication Date: August 2013

Genre: YA Dystopian, Paranormal

clearergoodreadsicon_thumb.png

BookDescriptionhalfsize.jpg

Being a Sophisticate of the Program seems like it’d be a pretty sweet deal: a little genetic alteration and anyone can be smarter, faster, and stronger. It’s a dream come true. All you have to give up is your freedom. 

Cleo is a Sophisticate and she has a bright future in the Program. But she has a secret. When she gets upset, bad things happen. Explosive things. Things she can’t control. 

When her secret is discovered, she’s sent to the Academy to train in the military branch of the Program. She’s destined to be a human weapon in the war that’s been going on since Wormwood occurred nearly 30 years ago. She soon learns that although her ability is unique, there are others like her — other Sophisticates with lethal skills and odd code names like Archerfish and Mimic Octopus. 

Immersed in a dangerous game of supernatural powers and dubious motives, Cleo doesn’t know who to trust. Ozzy, the annoyingly attractive cadet who has perfect aim in weapons class and deviant lips behind closed doors, begs her not to use her powers. He’s the golden boy of the Program, but can she trust him? Or will she find herself a target, caught in his crosshairs?

Continue reading

Retribution and Redemption: A Review of The Bully of Order

The Bully of Order

The Bully of Order by Brian Hart

Publication Date: September 2, 2104

Publisher: Harper Collins

Genre: Historical Fiction

clearergoodreadsicon_thumb.png

BookDescriptionhalfsize_thumb.jpg

Set in a logging town on the lawless Pacific coast of Washington State at the turn of the twentieth century, a spellbinding novel of fate and redemption—told with a muscular lyricism and filled with a cast of characters Shakespearean in scope—in which the lives of an ill-fated family are at the mercy of violent social and historical forces that tear them apart.

Keen to make his fortune, Jacob Ellstrom, armed with his medical kit and new wife, Nell, lands in The Harbor—a mud-filled, raucous coastal town teeming with rough trade pioneers, sawmill laborers, sailors, and prostitutes. But Jacob is not a doctor, and a botched delivery exposes his ruse, driving him onto the streets in a plunge toward alcoholism. Alone, Nell scrambles to keep herself and their young son, Duncan, safe in this dangerous world. When a tentative reunion between the couple—in the company of Duncan and Jacob’s malicious brother, Matius—results in tragedy, Jacob must flee town to elude being charged with murder.

Years later, the wild and reckless Duncan seems to be yet another of The Harbor’s hoodlums. His only salvation is his overwhelming love for Teresa Boyerton, the daughter of the town’s largest mill owner. But disaster will befall the lovers with heartbreaking consequences.

And across town, Bellhouse, a union boss and criminal rabble-rouser, sits at the helm of The Harbor’s seedy underbelly, perpetuating a cycle of greed and violence. His thug Tartan directs his pack of thieves, pimps, and murderers, and conceals an incendiary secret involving Duncan’s mother. As time passes, a string of calamitous events sends these characters hurtling towards each other in an epic collision that will shake the town to its core. (from Goodreads)

Continue reading