Six Month Blogoversary & Giveaway

celebration3

Sun Mountain Reviews has just hit

the 6 month mark!

 photo Brittana_-_Halo_-_Walking_on_Sunshine_zpsc1dca640.gif

And yes, we are going to celebrate!

Before we do, though, I’d like to take a moment to reflect on my foray into the world of blogging.  When I started, I had no long-term goals or plans for this blog. I’m a voracious reader, and after I  moved from my native state of North Carolina to Texas, I began to miss my book club and the lively discussions I had with fellow members.  Since I’m terrible with arts and crafts, and wasn’t very creative with scrapbooking, I decided to make book blogging my hobby in March of this year.

 As I look back on how far the blog has come, and the growing number of followers the blog has gained, I can’t help but be reminded of a scene from one of my all-time favorite movies: Bull Durham.  (Growing up 45 minutes from Durham, I loved attending the games and am a huge fan of the Durham Bulls minor league baseball team.)

movieclip

The scene I’m referencing is the famous “Lollygag” scene  where Coach Skip addresses the baseball team in the locker room after a game. Larry, his assistant coach is standing behind him to help emphasize the coach’s points:

Revised Bull Durham miracle quote

I’m taking liberties with the lines above:

Barbara Ann: “Six months. How’d I manage keep this blog going and  to get over 1,000 amazingly awesome followers?

Little voice in Barbara Ann’s head: “It’s a miracle.”

To continue with the baseball analogy, I’m still learning to play ball, striking out every now and then, and hoping for some home runs if I can help others find books they might enjoy reading.  However, unlike a “simple game” of baseball, reviewing is anything but simple.  I read slowly and thoroughly, taking copious notes to use when composing a review.  And, as many of you know, clear, effective writing is anything but easy. It can be a painstakingly slow process as I strive to write a fair, but honest review that is both helpful to the author and to fellow readers. I’ve also learned how time-consuming it is to maintain a blog and related social networking sites. I applaud fellow bloggers who work tirelessly, and, in many cases, without any financial reward to keep their readers up-to-date on topics they are passionate about!

Now to the good celebratory part of this posting!

Author Sara Bain  has just released her debut novel, The Sleeping Warrior and has graciously partnered with me to give away a digital copy of her book to one lucky winner!

Sleeping Warrior Book Cover

Paperback 325 pages

Published September 2, 2013

Publisher: Ivy Moon Press

Genres: crime thriller, fantasy, paranormal

Book Description

LONDON solicitor Libby Butler’s life is in a mess. Her affair with her boss is going nowhere as is her position in a city law firm. A narrow escape from the knife of south London’s elusive serial murderer, The Vampire Killer, has challenged her outward bravado and left her nerves in tatters.

When duty calls Libby to a police station in the middle of the night, she meets the enigmatic Gabriel Radley. Dressed like an ancient warrior, Gabriel has a habit of disappearing from police custody and danger appears to dog him.

Gabriel is searching for a ‘stone’, its value ‘beyond human imagination’, that will help bring a ‘monster’ to justice. When Libby agrees to help him, she plunges her life into grave danger where no one is safe.

A cult who call themselves The Awakened, a gangland thug and his henchman, a female assassin, a detective chief inspector from Scotland Yard, and even the serial killer, all become inadvertently embroiled in the chase for the stone and the pivotal force of Gabriel.

As the death toll rises, Libby is forced to face herself, learn the true value of life and the potent significance of the Sleeping Warrior within.

goodreadslogo

Visit Goodreads to read an excerpt of The Sleeping Warrior

About the Author

Sarah Bain

Sara Bain is a fantasy writer. She creates worlds of dark and light, of good and evil, of sorrow and happiness. Her panoramas, scenes and characters are born purely from a wild imagination – at times extravagant, but never restrained.

She says: “I don’t write ‘what ifs’ but rather try to create believable stories and characters that my readers can absorb themselves into and escape for a while into my world.”

A former newspaper journalist and editor of professional text books, Sara is a fantasy writer who now lives in south west Scotland.

Dark Dawn, the first book of her epic fantasy The Scrolls of Deyesto, is due to be published at the end of 2013.

Author Links

website: http://www.sarabain.co.uk/

Blog: http://lifesanidiom.blogspot.com/2013/09/author-interviews.html

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/sarap.bain

Twitter: https://twitter.com/sarapbain

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7244296.Sara_Bain

When Sara told me “Although I consider myself a fantasy author, I don’t like being categorised into any fixed genres and The Sleeping Warrior is intended to read like a crime thriller, but has a very subtle fantasy/paranormal element woven into the narrative” I knew I wanted to read this book. I’m not a genre purist; I do enjoy books in which the author is able to take essential components from multiple genres and blend them into a story, that, if done well, results in great fiction.

Purchase  on Amazon by clicking on the book cover

*****

Giveaway 50 percent

One ebook copy of The Sleeping Warrior

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

Through blogging, I’ve met wonderful readers and fellow book bloggers, gotten to know some terrific authors, and their encouragement along with that of my family and friends is keeping  me in the game. So let’s play ball!

I wish you all the best of luck in the giveaway, and on a parting note today:

“And when you speak of me, speak well.”    -Crash Davis from Bull Durham

 photo dancinginstadium_zps01ff65c9.gif

11 comments on “Six Month Blogoversary & Giveaway

  1. Pingback: Still Celebrating 6 Mo. Blogoversary with Giveaway of Hot Pursuit! | Sun Mountain Reviews

  2. You couldn’t have picked a better person (or book) for this celebration, Barbara Ann. I say that because Sara is a friend (one who’s always very generous to other writers) and because I’ve read and thoroughly enjoyed the book. Congratulations, too, on writing and sustaining a blog with such an admirable aim. Good luck for the next six months (and beyond).

  3. Pingback: Promotion Promotion Promotion | Ivy Moon Press

    • Hi Janice, thanks for stopping by. I know what you mean, sometimes I can’t wait for books either. Can’t wait to get your thoughts about the book, so I hope you’ll stop back by when I post my review of The Sleeping Warrior.

  4. Great to see my friend Sara featured her, Barbara Ann. Love your blog – no wonder it’s found 1,000 followers, they’re well deserved. Congratulations. Anne Stenhouse

Share you thoughts with me!

