Spotlight, Author Guest Post & Giveaway for Come Hell or High Desire

Tour Banner - Come Hell or High Desire

Come Hell or High Desire by Misty Dietz

Come Hell or High Desire

Genre: Romantic Suspense

Publication Date: August 12, 2013

Published by Entangled Publishing – Suspense Imprint

Book Description

Torn between dangerous desires…

Framed for a series of brutal murders, rebel-turned-CEO Zack Goldman must go to ground. When he discovers that sexy boutique owner Sloane Swift has a shocking gift—terrifying visions that connect her to his mentor’s missing daughter—he can’t believe her refusal to help him. Nor can he believe he’s actually falling for the frustrating woman.

Their chemistry will either find its perfect equation…

Helping an accused killer ranks low on Sloane’s to-do list, no matter how hot the attraction burns between them. But putting to rest her overwhelming guilt over the missing girl’s fate proves more difficult than she ever imagined…that is, until her heart and conscience begin to align.

…or detonate everything in its path.

As the real killer locks in on Sloane, Zack will stop at nothing to keep her safe. And as they earn each other’s trust—with danger in hot pursuit—they may just lose their hearts in the process…

 

About the Author

Misty Dietz

Misty’s love affair with words started in middle school when she penned dark stories set in exotic locales she knew nothing about. In college, her boy-angst spilled over into disturbing reams of poetry. After grad school, real life hit, and the writing went into hibernation until she found her own happily-ever-after with an ultra linear man who is the long-suffering counter-balance to her zig-zagging tendencies. Now, she spends her days writing emotionally complex, adrenaline-fueled stories, teaching Zumba, and praying her children don’t come home with math homework.
Author Links

Purchase Links for Come Hell or High Desire on Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Kobo Books

Why Book Covers are Like Dating
By Misty Dietz

 A big thank you to Barbara Ann for having me on Sun Mountain Reviews today! Love the blog name! Even though I’m from the flatlands of eastern North Dakota, I’ve spent time in the mountains because my parents live in the foothills of the Rockies. Super fun to explore…like shopping for books!

We’ve all heard it before…don’t judge a book by it’s cover, yada, yada. And we know we shouldn’t, but we do…all the time. It’s human nature. So of course, authors are very concerned about the window dressing of their stories. Because let’s face it, sometimes that’s all readers have to go on when they’re faced with twenty other covers. It’s like that initial attraction when you’re dating.

Say you’re on Amazon or Barnes and Noble and you see that hot cover that gives you chills. Is it looking at me, you think, does it want me? LOL. But for real, if you’re in a room full of men or on a website full of books, which ones are you going to select to move to the next phase of “dating”?

The ones that physically appeal to you. This is a subjective thing, but in books it is the right blend of colors, images, typography, and mood that release feel-good chemicals and inspire your curiosity. Enough so that you’re intrigued to move to the next phase, which is usually reading the book blurb, or back cover copy.

Sure, people (and books) can come to be more attractive the longer we get to know them, but first impressions definitely count—and it’s usually a gut-level, split second decision.

So, needless to say, authors are very concerned about the end result.

Fiona Jayde is the graphics goddess who did the cover of COME HELL OR HIGH DESIRE, and that sexy beast on the cover is totally Zack!! When I saw that man’s image while surfing the graphics website Entangled uses for their cover art, my heart practically stopped. I couldn’t believe there would be a model who would so much match up with the character I envisioned, yet there he flippin’ was. Entangled is so awesome for so many reasons, but the creative input they offer their authors is particularly fabulous.

In addition to Zack’s image, I suggested they use either a river background or something grungy and industrial to reflect where a lot of the action goes down in the book. Fiona went with the industrial theme, and I think the end result is THE BOMB. 🙂

So what do you think? Are you strongly influenced by a book’s cover? What’s one of your favorite covers?

At the end of my blog tour we’ll be drawing the name of two commenters from all of the blogs to gift not one, but two fantastic prize winners. See below for details, and thanks for being here! xo, misty 😉

Black Giveaway icon

Enter the Giveaway by clicking on the link below

Swag Picture

a Rafflecopter giveaway

5 comments on “Spotlight, Author Guest Post & Giveaway for Come Hell or High Desire

  1. Hi Misty and fellow readers,

    Your guest post about how book covers can influence our interest in reading a book is one that I often think about. I admit that an attractive and appealing book cover may initially draw me toward a book, but my decision to read a book is never based on the book cover alone. I look at the genre and book description as well.

    The substance of the book is what ultimately matters to me when I write my reviews, and I never use the book’s cover as part of my evaluation criteria. Heck, I can’t even draw stick people very well, so I am certainly not one to criticize a book with a lackluster cover.

    Now, with all that said, I am a succor for books with a sexy male on the cover, just like the one featured on Come Hell or High Desire. However, even if you had a stick man wearing a hoodie displayed on your cover, I’d still want to read this book because it has an intriguing plot line.

    I love a good romantic suspense and have added your book to my reading list.

    • “Heck, I can’t even draw stick people very well, so I am certainly not one to criticize a book with a lackluster cover.”

      LMAO, Barbara, and touche! 🙂 Thanks again for having me, and I appreciate your willingness to give my book a try. I hope you enjoy Zack and Sloane’s story! xo, misty 🙂

Share you thoughts with me!

