Celebrate with SMR: 2 Months & 200+ Followers (Giveaway of Culture Shock)

Sun Mountain Reviews Celebrates Two Months & 200+ Followers

tumblr_m8pjfx0yH01qive55cazyexcited

I started Sun Mountain Reviews in March because I am so passionate about reading. This love led me to major in English and teach writing and literature classes for a number of years. For me, going to work was playtime because I was able to share my passion with others and delight in the stimulating discussions I had with  students and colleagues.  Since I  enjoy reading books from all genres, I wanted a place where I could express my thoughts about the books I’ve read and a space where I could be creative by adding in a variety of multimedia to complement the books and support my reviews.  Thus, Sun Mountain Reviews was born. I really didn’t have any idea that I would gain so many followers in such a short amount of time.  This was just a creative outlet for me, but now with such loyal followers, I am even more motivated to continue reading and writing to share my reading experiences with you!

In order to help me celebrate, I have partnered with author Jeanette Pekala who has graciously provided 10 ebooks of her first book in the new series Culture Shock (Culture Shock #1).  At the end of this post, you will find a link to enter the Giveaway.  Thank you Jeanette!

*****

Culture Shock (Culture Shock #1)

By: Jeanette Pekala

Cover (1)

Book Description

CULTURE SHOCK is a witty tale of mystery and romance with a large helping of southern hospitality.

Macy Holmes is a seventeen-year-old socially-isolated introvert since her best friend’s death a year ago. When her family decides to move from Manhattan to the quaint country town of Bougainvillea, Florida, Macy finds she’s in a completely different world. Macy is no longer the outsider hiding behind designer clothes when she is sought out by three strange students, one of whom she is particularly interested in. The more time she spends with Chad the more things don’t add up. When his true identity is finally revealed, Macy is pulled into a supernatural society with its saturation of inhabitants residing in Bougainvillea.

You would think she has enough on her plate, but no, then her dreams become infiltrated by an external magical force, Macy and her band of supernatural misfits must find the culprit behind the magic-induced nightmares. The must dodge zombie assassins, shift shape-shifters and high school bullies in order to stop this perpertrator before Macy, her friends or her parents pay the ultimate price. Espeically when Macy has the sneaking suspiciion that these dreams are reality…

*****

Excerpts from Culture Shock

Excerpt #1

There were two guys and one girl. The girl had severely long red wavy hair and flawless fair skin. She was supermodel skinny. Heroin-addict supermodel skinny. Her back was to me so I couldn’t get a good look at her face.

The first boy was sitting next to her. His back also to me, but when I first caught them spying, I noticed something peculiar about this boy. He was wearing a black hoodie, with the drawstrings tied so tight, the hood was covering nearly his whole face. He had dark aviator glasses on and gloves. Seriously, it’s like ninety-something degrees outside. Why on earth would you wear gloves? His skin, what was showing of it anyways, was even paler than the girl’s.

Excerpt #2

We found a spot over by the water free of sawgrass. It was a beautiful view. On the back end of the lake was a dense forest. It was dark just beyond the first set of trees. That was the only end of the lake that had remained uninhabited. There was a syrupy mist rising slowly off the surface of the water. It was creepy, but romantic in a sinister way. The sights, sounds, and smells all mingled together to create a scene an artist would love to capture with the stroke of his brush.

 *****

Author Interview

Readers interviewed Jeanette Pekala about her debut novel, Culture Shock. Here is what they came up with.

Tasha: How close are Jeanette and the main character? Even though it’s fiction, do you have anything in common with her? Can we get to know you by understanding the main character?

There does happen to be a little Jeanette in the main character, Macy Holmes. I like to think of her as a mixture of me and my sister. She’s silly and quirky like me but very much the fashionista diva like my sister.

Marie Ann: Did your family feel neglected when you were writing your book?

Well, my hubby doesn’t care because when I’m writing, I’m not nagging him so he can pretty much play video games all night long when I’m in a writing groove.

Nicki: What inspires you to write?

Life is what inspires me. It’s the ultimate muse—from relationships to nature and history. I pull inspiration from the deep love I have for my husband and pour that into the feelings of my characters when they’re high on love, but pull from other’s heartbreak to recreate the devastation in the souls of the characters I write. Nature inspires me—from old gnarled trees to vibrant wildflowers. It’s magical. If you’ve read Culture Shock you know I’m a history buff especially when it comes to architecture. The majestic old homes in north central Florida, so different from the city where I grew up, have inspired the fictional town of Bougainvillea where Culture Shock takes place.

Nicki: Why did you or what led you to write Culture Shock?

I awoke from a horrific nightmare one night with the taste of fear in my mouth, shaking for my life very much the same way Macy, the MC does in the book. It was a nightmare that felt so real it took me quite a few minutes to calm down afterward. After I regained my composure, a light bulb went on, Ah-ha (snap fingers) that would be a great concept for a book. I pulled out a notepad and jotted down the nightmare with a green dried out marker at 3am (it was all I could find). That’s how Culture Shock was born.

Nicki: Are you working on any current projects?

Yes, I’m currently working on Shock Wave, the second book in the Culture Shock Series. It should be released in the fall if all goes according to plan.

Arie: What is the primary focus or point of your book? Does your book strive to accomplish something intellectual, social, geopolitical, metaphysical, cultural, societal, emotional, relational, or recreational?

Wow! Good question. The primary focus of my book is entertainment. It’s definitely a light-hearted, nothing too deep though you will find plenty of humor and gore. Macy does go through an emotional journey where she tries to break out of her shell to become a confident young woman.

Cristiane: What made you write a mystery thriller? And who is the blue-print for the heroine, Macy?

I mentioned before why I wrote it. I previously had 2 failed attempts at writing novels so for weeks I was thinking, what could I write??? I need a new concept! Something that’s not overdone, or maybe something that’s popular, but with a new twist? Nothing came of my brainstorming until I had that nightmare. Culture Shock starts out slow at first, but picks up the pace and will have you staying up late into the wee hours to figure out who did what and what happens next…

 *****

About the Author

_DSC2162b&w

After finishing her degree in Sociology from the University of Florida, Jeanette Pekala had no idea what she wanted to do with her life.

While her husband was deployed overseas, she focused on what she loved to do, write, where she has finally found an outlet for her overactive imagination.

She lives a not so normal life just a wee bit north of Bougainvillea where she resides with her husband and two children working on Shock Wave, book 2 in the Culture Shock Series.

*****

Contact Links

Email: jdpekala@gmail.com

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/JeanettePekalaAuthor

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/goodreadscomlifeandliterature

Blog: http://adventuresoflifeandliterature.blogspot.com/

Website: http://jeanettepekala.com/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/JeanettePekala

Buy Links

 Amazon: Culture Shock (Culture Shock Series) (ebook) / Culture Shock (Culture Shock Series) (Volume 1) (book)

Createspace Paperback: https://www.createspace.com/4205224

Barnes & Noble (Nook) Link: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/culture-shock-jeanette-pekala/1114839472?ean=2940016355870

*****

Black Giveaway icon

Click on the link below for a chance to win one of ten ebook copies of Culture Shock (Culture Shock #1)

Giveaway ends, Friday, May 31st

a Rafflecopter giveaway

*****

Thank You to all those who have helped Sun Mountain Reviews to grow!

 photo tumblr_lijfmgYG7d1qbmjdgnerdyhappydance_zpsc3bb4b72.gif

To post a comment, please click on the green Leave a Comment link following the tags at the bottom of this post.

2 comments on “Celebrate with SMR: 2 Months & 200+ Followers (Giveaway of Culture Shock)

  1. This sounds like a very good book so, if I can get a good book for free that would make me a very happy person. 🙂

Share you thoughts with me!

