Review of Upcoming Release: Waiting on Forever (The Forever Series)

WOF8001-199x300 (2)

Purchase on Amazon:Waiting on Forever (The Forever Series)

View on Goodreads

Waiting on Forever 

This is the second book in The Forever Series by Ashley Wilcox that follows Planning On Forever and can be read as a stand-alone.

Release Date: April 29, 2013

Genre: Contemporary Romance

Age Group: Adult

Book Description:

College. Parties, sororities and getting drunk. Oh, yeah. And learning. This may be true for most college students, but not for Leah Bennett. College life for her includes studying, working, and excelling in school. When it comes to the social ladder, Leah is at the bottom. Popular girls, hot guys, and star athletes are of no importance to her, except for one. 

Matthew Jacobs.

Matt is the starting wide receiver at SUNY Cortland, the most wanted guy on campus and Leah’s best friend. Although Leah’s feelings toward Matt run deeper than just friendship, it is something she would never let be heard because the odds of someone like Matthew Jacobs going for someone like Leah Bennett are slim to none.

When Matt starts showing an interest in Leah that goes beyond friendship, she is dumbfounded and doesn’t believe it is possible-until one weekend that changes everything. 

Will Matt and Leah’s popularity status get in the way of having a chance at a real relationship?

Or does status mean nothing when it comes to true love?

Book Review

nerdygirlandthejock Is it possible for two seemingly opposites to have a relationship with each other?

This book took me back in time to my college years: arriving naive and innocent, learning about relationships, and experiencing a lot of “first times.”  It’s especially during those years, when we can easily find ourselves labeling a person just by initial impressions. However, this story makes the reader look beyond the surface and to see what’s beyond one’s physical appearance.

In the prologue, readers meet the two central characters. who are freshmen: Leah Bennett  a photography major

girlwithcamera

and Matthew Jacobs, a football scholarship recipient, majoring in physical education.

football player

Their first meeting occurs at an orientation, where both characters assess the other based on stereotypes. Their encounter is described from Matt’s point of view.  He takes one look at Leah and thinks, “Even though this girl is screaming nerd, she’s actually pretty cute.” However, Leah is wary of Matt, since he’s a “jock” and, unlike other girls, isn’t  impressed with him.

When Leah discovers Matt’s major, her snicker draws Matt’s attention:

“Is there a problem with my major, ” I ask Leah.

“Nope, not at all,” she responds, clearly lying.

“I’ve always wanted to be a gym teacher,” I state defensively.

“I’m sure you have,” she says with even more sarcasm.

“What’s that supposed to mean?”

“All you jocks major in the same thing, she says matter-of-factly.”

Leah’s sassy, bold comments spark Matt’s interest, and that’s how their relationship begins. They become friends through Facebook and French class. As Leah learns more about Matt, she questions her initial impression of him: “Normally I don’t converse with athletes, but after getting to know him better I noticed he wasn’t as arrogant and pig-headed as most football players are…”

Until the epilogue, the rest of the story is told from Leah’s point of view, helping readers understand this dynamic character, who is atypical of many young adults. She defines herself as “a social outcast,”  doesn’t go out to social events, or worry over dating. Yet, there is such depth to her personality that makes it easy for readers to connect with Leah.  Although she thinks she’s a “nerd” and figures everyone else does as well, it doesn’t stop her from being herself. She’s confident in who she is and refuses to be  intimidated by others:  “I may be nerdy and quiet, but I don’t let stupid people walk all over me.” Her wit, sarcasm, and snarky thoughts make her a downright likeable character.

Although Leah is attracted to him, she is too is quick to make assumptions about Matt’s character based on his status:

“I can’t let Matt know how he makes me feel inside. Matt and I can never be a couple and our relationship can never be more than friends. He’s a popular jock that goes for popular girls and he is totally out of my league.” 

However, Leah finds herself doing things as an excuse just to be around Matt. For example, she’s willing to entertain his friends, and she goes jogging around the track just so she can see Matt practicing with his team: “I’ve never seen the point in running and I’ve always wondered how people sought enjoyment from it, but if it gets me in viewing distance of Matt for a little while then running is what I’ll do.”

girl running on track

 Even if she won’t admit her feelings for Matt are anything more than friendship, her actions prove otherwise. 

Matt’s character defies being stereotyped, and he proves to Leah that there is a lot more to him than his looks and interest in football. His honesty and integrity are to be admired. Aware of Leah’s cautiousness, Matt gradually reveals his romantic feelings for her, changing the way she defines herself . girllearningtobesexy She gains the confidence to move beyond her “nerd” status.

The passion and love they find in each other is new for both of them and can only be described as  intense, yet tender and heart-warming.

intimacy---Istimewa_zps9f5cd57b

This is an even keeled romance without a lot of angst in the relationship, which I found refreshing. Although the plot is at times predictable, by no means is it a boring read. Conflict and drama are present as the plot unfolds, showing the reader realistic ups and downs of falling in love.

I found myself smiling, chuckling, and even crying throughout the book. I’m not a sappy type of person, but I sure did become one by the end of the book, rooting for that happily ever after.

 quote about love so much

Rating:

Good-Read-icon

AToMR Tours provided me with a copy of this book on behalf of the author in exchange for an honest review.

small AToMR

*****

Watch the Book Trailer! (It’s Excellent in capturing the essence of this story)

About the Author

Some may consider me a jack of all trades, but I consider myself well-rounded.

I’ve waitressed, styled hair, answered phones and, most recently, worked full time as mom to my two beautiful boys.

There was this book…Everyone and their brother started talking about this book series entitled Fifty Shades of Grey by E.L. James. I didn’t really pay attention to the craze at first, since I wasn’t a big reader-okay, I didn’t read at all. But curiosity got the best of me, so I downloaded it to my kindle.

I was immediately hooked. I read the whole series in three days. Yes, three books in three days.

I kept finding all these great books that I HAD to read (just ask my credit card!).

Then I started hearing voices. Voices that turned into stories; stories that were begging to get out of my head.

I started writing them down on scraps of paper. Then I transferred them to my computer. Before I knew it, Planning on Forever was born.

The voices in my head are still talking, so I’m still writing.

Ashley Wilcox

Learn more about Ashley Wilcox

Ashley Wilcox Official Website

Facebook Page

Twitter

music blue black round 50

Music to Complement the Book

Ingrid Michaelson: “The Way I Am” (Official Music Video)

Joe Cocker: “You Are So Beautiful”

Faith Hill & Tim McGraw: “Lets Make Love” 

Bryan Adams: “When You Love Someone”

 

recipes3

Tempting Desserts Mentioned in the book:

64strawberries

Here is an easy recipe: Chocolate Covered Strawberries by Paula Deen via the Food Network

smores

Quick and Easy Guide for Making S’mores: S’mores- How to Make S’mores

******

additional books you might like

Read more of Ashley Wilcox’s work:

Planning on Forever (The Forever Series)

Planning on Forever

Purchase on Amazon: 

Planning on Forever (Volume 1)

To leave a comment, click the small green link “Leave a comment” located at the end of this post after the listed book tags.

Share you thoughts with me!

